Some Old Poetry

Bound to Die

It’s hard to lick an envelope,

when you know your tongue is dry.

It’s hard to stop the tears,

when you’ve started to cry.

It’s hard to see the same,

when you’re not looking eye to eye.

And it’s hard to stay alive,

when you know you’re bound to die.

So They Say

They say love is the best,

the best in the world.

So why did it screw me over?

Why couldn’t I be heard?

They say time heals all,

it’s been a little more than a year.

When I promised my eternal love,

how could you not even hear?

They say that ‘trust’ is number one,

honesty’ and ‘humor’ make three.

Yet, when I had enough trust

to be honest with you,

the one not laughing ended up me.

Loving

Hating…

Talking…

Laughing…

Understanding…

Holding…

Crying…

More talking…

Some understanding…

Again holding…

Still crying…

Good-byeing.

My Dream

I’ve had a dream of past relationships

None have I dreamt as the one I live now

A dream that lets me live securely

He opens up my eyes at night

But awaken I do not

I dream of us together forever

A dream like this I have forever sought

He puts me to sleep like the mockingbird hymns

He keeps me awake, but tire I do not

I sleep as soundly as a child

A dream I am blessed that I have got

One Chance / Hidden Treasures

I wake up in the morning,

See your picture by my bed

I think about how bad I hurt you,

Wonder what was going ‘round my head

If I had a chance for you to love me again

Even a chance for you to just be my friend

I’d treasure that one chance for always

And never let it go, never let it end.

Remembering all our good times,

Blocking out the bad.

It’s funny how people take advantage of things,

Forgetting everything that they have.

If I had a chance for you to love me again

Even a chance for you to just be my friend

I’d treasure that one chance for always

And never let it go, never let it end.

When you treasured me,

I took advantage of you

Like when people say “Hey it’s a nice day”

But they never notice the sky is still blue.

If I had a chance for you to love me again

Even a chance for you to just be my friend

I’d treasure that one chance for always

And never let it go, never let it end.


Apart, Yet Together

He draws me into his depths

To discover his endless love

Where our souls come together

Our hearts and minds become one

His touch is soft and gentle

A warmth I’ve never felt

A kiss remaining with me

Throughout all the lonely days apart

So let the minutes, the hours pass by

Lonely days flee on their way

The wheels of time tick on

Bringing us closer together

Yet, our love continues to grow

He is on my mind day and night

Silently, I wait to be together

In each others arms, forever.


Leave a Reply

